MysteriesofLove360°

Temptation…

on December 17, 2013

image

There was a knock on my door. It was firm but yet very subtle and I wondered who it was. Summoning up the little courage I had I opened the door and was shocked to see what I had abandoned sometime ago in front of me. It smiled  enticingly at me. I didn’t let it in and frantically slammed the door against it.

Leaning against the door; my heart close to beating out of my chest. It felt like a horror movie.
“Where had it come from?” I questioned myself, “How did it find me?”  It knew my address and came knocking. I waited a few minutes and checked through the peep hole of the door, something I should have done earlier. It was gone.
The next day was just the same, each time it visited the desire grew stronger to let it in. But I held my ground though weakly. The moment came when I was too weak to push against it and welcomed it in. I enjoyed the few moments I had with it, bringing pleasure I had long forgotten.
image

Each time it left I broke down in tears at my lack of will power and strength to stop it. I was determined to overcome but weak to carry out my action plan. I wait for the day when I would overcome Temptation.
image

I asked myself how it had happened. “How could I be tempted with this? How could I have fallen?”
It was like a flash back, my thoughts taking me to my recent victory and how I had relaxed while not noticing the enemy sending in my weakness. “Then why didn’t You help me????” I cried out loud falling to my knees.

It dawned on me then that I had a many a chance to escape, the door had always been locked and I could have let it remain that way. I pondered on it and said a prayer, ‘Forgive me Lord, and give me strength over my weakness. Please alert me at times of temptation and give me a way of escape, in Jesus name….Amen.”

James 1 vs. 13-15,’13 If we are tempted by such trials, we must not say, “This temptation comes from God.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, and he himself tempts no one. 14 But we are tempted when we are drawn away and trapped by our own evil desires.
15 Then our evil desires conceive and give birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.’

1 Corinthians 10 vs. 12-13,’12 If you think you are standing firm you had better be careful that you do not fall.
13 Every test that you have experienced is the kind that normally comes to people. But God keeps his promise, and he will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm; at the time you are put to the test, he will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out.’


image

Matt 26 vs 41, Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak’

“Equip yourselves with prayers and be ready at all times…for one never knows when the hour of trial comes…”

10 responses to “Temptation…

  1. Adewale says:

    Wow…. This is so amazing

  2. abisola says:

    How do u get these pictures? Nice choice of words and different from the last post. *thumbs up*

  3. Bliss says:

    I am not surprised yet just waiting for you to wow me, keep it up so proud of you

  4. Amazing!
    Indeed we should take heed lest we fall. Watch what you feed your mind,it becomes a basis for what you desire…
    This was great! Keep blogging for Christ dear.

  5. And I am awed at his everlasting love and mercy each and every time we fall. No,I won’t take grace for granted,but God’s love is simply mindblowing! Affairs or not,He always accepts us when we come back in humility and a broken spirit.
    Thank God for God!

  6. […] flesh, to live by His Spirit, in this journey. I would tell you some of my posts, Burning desires, temptation….were more personal. I found myself falling more to the things of the passions and desires of […]

Leave a Reply

