MysteriesofLove360°

To Love GOD

on May 2, 2014

image

1 Peter 1 vs 8a, ‘You love him even though you have never seen him….’

How do I express love to someone I can’t see but can obviously see me?
I don’t know how he feels or can’t see His expression. So how do I know how? How do I love God?

Taking a husband and wife for example, a wife loves her husband and wouldn’t want to cheat on him…may not even think of settling down with any other man when her husband meets all her needs and loves her; infidelity is out of the question. She would be devoted to her husband with her body.

Well I’m not married yet..but I show love to those around me by wanting to be there for them, helping them when they need something, spending time with them, saying the words ‘I love you’ , not wanting to make them sad ’cause it would hurt me, learning to say I’m sorry to those I hurt.
But obviously I’m not super human so don’t think its all perfect. Sometimes its not easy to say sorry, but this is done with a little nudge from within; the Holy Spirit’s doing. I need the Holy Spirit’s help to relate with others.

The above illustration is to learn something; I need the Holy Spirit’s help. Remember in my last post on ‘God’s love‘ that we need power to understand God’s love, we need the Spirit of God to love also.

Most especially love entails SACRIFICE. I asked God how do I love, how do I show I love you? And what came to mind was sacrifice; sacrificial love. Sacrificing my time, setting some things aside to just be with Him.

God says we should love Him with all our heart, soul and mind. That means absolute devotion to Him.

Another way He knows that we love Him like we say we do is when we keep His commandments.

And when we love God so many benefits follow. For example:
God says in Jer 29 vs 11, ‘ For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.’

Now connect the above passage with this:

1 Corinthians 2 vs 9-11, ‘9 That is what the Scriptures mean when they say,
“No eye has seen, no ear has heard,
and no mind has imagined
what God has prepared
for those who love him.” 10 But it was to us that God revealed these things by his Spirit. For his Spirit searches out everything and shows us God’s deep secrets. 11 No one can know a person’s thoughts except that person’s own spirit, and no one can know God’s thoughts except God’s own Spirit.’

Loving God, choosing to know Him more and building up intimacy with Him allows us to know all He has in store for us.
Loving God, choosing to have know Him more and building up intimacy with Him allows us to know all He has in store for us.

Don’t love God ’cause of all the good things He can give you…Love Him ’cause He loved you first regardless of your sinful state when others might have rejected you.

PhotoGrid_1399113219944

Leave a Reply

