MysteriesofLove360°

Loving Yourself and Others…

on May 16, 2014

1400246052488_20140516141653425

John 15 vs 17 This is my command: Love each other.(NIV)

I look into the mirror and I tell myself ‘I love you Tope.” And I smile. Queer right? Well someone’s got to do it and rightly so me at this moment! Lol (okay I actually don’t do that but I love me and take care of me *smile*)

But I do have a friend that sends messages to himself and says how much he loves himself….I think that’s pretty cool. I would also like to do the same.

The bible says we should love ourselves.

Loving God – Loving ourselves – Loving others.

Loving God enables us to love ourselves and then be comfortable to give that love to others. We learn how to love from God.

But you could ask, “how can I love someone who doesn’t even love me back? Who doesn’t even appreciate my love..”
Well you’ve got to love anyway ’cause we are even told to love our enemies also. Its not easy….but His grace is sufficient…..

Loving without expecting anything or expecting to be loved in return frees you from hurts ’cause you are loving freely…. That’s an unconditional love.

I have friends that I care about and I know I love the person (brotherly/sisterly love) and wouldn’t mind helping out and I wondered like seriously, if I could love everyone this way it would be so cool.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean jumping from one relationship to another and dropping off a piece of your heart and having a broken part left. No way! What I mean is loving everyone the way God wants us to; freely without conditions.

If the person doesn’t love you back…. You couldn’t be bothered but keep on loving.
If the person keeps being a pain and making mistakes, you could just be patient as you would be with yourself(’cause you definitely wouldn’t shout at yourself or like someone to shove you away..so you would also not do that to another)
And mind you doing all that loving without expecting it in return takes a lot of maturity in Christ.

Loving yourself entails you taking care of you (I really like to take care of me… I love myself by buying things for me clothes,shoes, body and facial scrubs :D. and eating right.
I like to sing and dance…just me having fun with myself….’Cause if you can’t have fun with you …means you always have to wait for someone to make you happy.

Being happy with you makes you energized to make others happy ) and spending time to do the things you love, taking yourself out and others. But with all this how much can we do this for others? (I ask myself the same thing too)

God wants us to love others as He loves us and by doing this, people would know we are truly His disciples; people of His kingdom. ‘Cause if we really can practice this love with others we would live at peace with each other.

1 John 3 vs 10 (NIV), ‘This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not God’s child, nor is anyone who does not love their brother and sister.’

Let’s all check out the characteristics of love in 1 Corinthians 13 and try to imbibe them. God help us all……

Prayer: Lord, help me to love you, myself and others as you want me to.

IMG_20140516_190839

 

One response to “Loving Yourself and Others…

  1. Akinloluwa says:

    Hmmm… With charity(love) towards all and malice towards none… 😘😘😱

Leave a Reply

