MysteriesofLove360°

Am I Beautiful?

on June 11, 2014

 

aibPicsArt_1402492649702

 

Am I too skinny? Am I skinny enough? Am I fat?

Are my eyes pretty?

Is my nose too big?

Am I too short? Too tall?….

Wait…my tummy isn’t flat enough??

The questions go on and on ’cause of our physical appearance and how the world tends to define a beautiful or handsome person.
The need to look good and feel confident in the eyes of the world, and not in your own eyes, is common to a lot of people. Everyone likes to look good, though some more than others, we love latest clothes, jewelry, bags….. shoes!!!!!! (Well maybe all that is just us girls….)

For me I feel my ‘yams’ are too pronounced and I need to reduce my tummy ’cause its protruding. The yams…I don’t think I can do anything about,,,the stomach, nothing a lil sit ups can’t fix *smile*

Its good to look presentable, but not be so over the top ’bout it, that we make it a do or die thing.

1 Peter 3 vs 3 says,
‘Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes.’

There was this dove advert about women telling their friends what they liked about them, which they did quite well,  but when it got to talking about themselves they couldn’t find anything to say!

A practical step….look for those large standing mirrors and take a look at yourself and appreciate what you’ve got.

And instead of questioning your outlook, rather ask yourself:

Am I kind?

Am I gentle?

Am I loving?

Do I have self-control?

Do I have the fruit of the Spirit embedded in me?

All the beauty of the physical would one day fade and you would be left with the inner quality which stands the test of time….

I Peter 3 vs 4,
‘4 Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.’

According to the psalmist in Ps 139 vs 14
‘ 14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.’

Deep down within himself he knew God did a great job!

And God did a good job with me! I love my height(don’t even know if I’m up to 5’4″), eyes, nose, mouth…in fact everything! Its not like I’m Miss Agbani Darego or something….or Kim Kardashian. But I was created this way for a reason (maybe if I was too tall I would have been a bully or something….Lol) but anyway way appreciate who you are on the outside….God loves you!

This is something written by a friend that I would love to share,

Beauty

No matter how pretty she looks
Her value can be calculated
Based on the looks/quality
And quantity of the men standing
Beside/behind her.

Looks are deceptive, they wow you
And blow your mind away.
However, a pause to calculate,
to think, to wonder and not just to wow,
Will always reveal a deeper truth.

The truth lies in the fact that Beauty/
Looks/pretty/lovely/good looking…
Is really vain!
Vain – VANITY. Beauty is vanity.

Dapo Omotosho
PhotoGrid_1402494799906

13 responses to “Am I Beautiful?

  1. peace says:

    Thanks….I needed dat.

  2. Really love this…good job

  3. Akinloluwa says:

    This is one of the best works I’ve read on self-esteem and development. More wisdom to your repository Tope! 😊

  4. Gloria says:

    Nice 1 dear

  5. Gloria says:

    Nice 1

  6. True beauty flows from within..
    You have no inner beauty and the “looks” automatically fade in the eyes of others.

    • True words spoken there Frances….just thought of an apple that looks good on the outside and is bad on the inside. Obviously the next thing you wanna do is throw it out! God help us keep shining for Christ from the inside out…..

  7. Amazing says:

    Luv it, d quotation 2. Really is beauty 4m within dt radiates out. Tanx Tope

Leave a Reply

