MysteriesofLove360°

Embracing your Crown:  Journey to forgiveness

on June 13, 2014

jsjsjPicsArt_1402512744495

Why is it that people hurt people? Why do people hurt the ones they are meant to love and cherish?
Why?
This is a question I asked myself.
A man that chased a woman, loved her, did all sorts for her even after marriage, had the same capacity to hurt her. To cause her pain and sadness.
God why did this happen? Why? Was it ‘JuJu’ that made the man do so?

Having concluded the book of Genesis and it ended with the death of Joseph. Joseph whom his father had loved so much and his brothers had despised.
Though Joseph, as a young man of seventeen, had had his shortcomings of rubbing in the faces of his brothers the great plan God had for him.
His brothers, his blood, his family, who were meant to love and protect their brother simply wanted to kill him. They instead sold him to foreigners to be a slave for the rest of his life.
How did he feel? He had to beg for his life….plead with his brothers but all to no avail. He went to a foreign land but no matter the let down of those closest to him, God was with him.
He granted him favor and he soon became a man in charge of his masters’ household. Yet I’m sure the pain of what he went through with his family still lingered in his heart. And then another trial came, one that forced him to be in prison just ’cause he feared God.

Where was God in all of this? Why was all that happening in his life?
It was all to fulfill a purpose and God was always with him. God saw him through and still lifted him up in prison. He was there for a few years till his victory came and he discovered things happened that way ’cause it was how God intended it to be, to position him in greatness to help the nation of Israel.

Many of us may have come from broken or dysfunctional homes, where a father could have left or where you could have been treated badly or abused, either way the upbringing may not have been so great.

Its time to release the pain and let go of the past and forgive to press forward to the future.

For me, I struggle with letting go of what happened with my parents. It has resulted to me having fears about relationships. The sounds of Lionel Richie and Diana Ross’ ‘Endless love’ brings more pain than wishful thinking of love.

But then God says we should forgive so that He can also forgive us. I also read a book where I learnt that me holding on to the past brings about a possibility of it repeating itself…..

I’m not going to hide my pain from God….I just want Him to take it away and help me forgive as I should.

And even if your situation may not be like mine or someone has hurt you in whatever way…why not take the step to forgive.

PicsArt_1402653127588
In Psalm 103 vs 4 (NIV) it says

‘who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion’

I want to embrace my crown of love and compassion to enable me forgive. Whatever hardened heart I may have God please turn it to a heart of flesh. Help me Lord.

I may not be able to see the greater good in all of this yet….but God knows best and I only need to trust in Him.

8 responses to “Embracing your Crown:  Journey to forgiveness

  1. Wow, straight from the heart.

  2. Akinloluwa says:

    Hmmm… Temitope right on with another piece underscoring compass to a perfect life. More Ken!

  3. jade says:

    For me I need to accept d fact that I failed at somethg I worked so hard for,that I prayed n fasted for.to accept that everything happens for reason even if I can see and I don’t understand I just nid to believe that God has a plan for me because I hve lost d zeal to pray I feel like I dnt knw how to pray anymore.so. Am working on dat n trying to forgive myself for missing such a great opportiunity

    • Awwww Jade *hugs* I don’t know what it is that happened but from your words I can feel how its getting to you. Sometimes we can’t see what God is working out for us and it hurts so much but God knows it all and He knows the future. He is abundant in Mercy and His Grace is sufficient in recovering lost opportunities. Just release the pain to Him and forgive yourself….it may be hard but let God be there for you and strengthen you.

    • Forgiveness of self..one of the biggest to overcome but we can by God’s grace.
      Be kind to yourself, love yourself by forgiving yourself.

      Forgive yourself Jade, God has.
      *hugs and much love

Leave a Reply

