MysteriesofLove360°

At the Feet of Jesus 2

on October 7, 2014

image

Few months ago we looked at ‘At the Feet of Jesus’  – http://wp.me/p45kLM-40- , and how it was best to present our troubles and worries to God; leaving it at His feet and trusting Him to help us. Today, we continue with the story . . .

After the first time of dropping my huge duffel bag, I had felt so much at peace with myself. Like a heavy burden had been lifted off my shoulders and I could walk about freely without a care knowing that my troubles would be taken care of.

So it now became a habit for me that any troubles I had I just had to drop them at His feet and enjoy the goodness and benefits I got thereafter. Listening to Him was now secondary. After all, my problems were the only thing that I needed help with.

But one night, when we had finished and were all heading out, the man called me again, “Thank you for coming all this while. How are you feeling?” he asked.

“I’m very fine, thank you. I’m grateful for the opportunity I have been given … I truly appreciate it.” He smiled at me with kind eyes and said I was welcome. I thought that was the end of the conversation till he requested that I speak to him some more and then I wondered what I had done wrong.
“How have you been in all these weeks of coming here?”
His question seemed similar to what he had previously asked and wondered at it. “I’ve been good, in fact great!” He nodded.

“Is that all you want? Rather, do you think that’s all you can get?” I was confused and I was sure my face did justice to my inner turmoil. “Why so much questions?”
“I – I don’t understand what you mean.” The room wasn’t entirely empty with some people lying on the carpeted floor.

“You can be offered much more than what you are getting presently. Don’t be more concerned at the problems solved, be more concerned with knowing who God is. . . What more He can do; or else you would continue to come here ignorantly and leave as empty as you came, your needs met but you would remain at the same level as you are now . . . that’s what I mean.” His words hit me straight in the heart. He spoke so gently it invoked a sorrow within me.

“What level am I?” He told me I wasn’t enjoying life as I should, I was still the same way I had been when I first came.

“You haven’t learnt anything, you may be free from your troubles but you would never be free in other things; free to experience love as it should be, true joy, and so much more.” I thought on what he had said and was curious; curious to know more about what he had said.

“Is it . . . is it too late?” he smiled and shook his head and held out his hand. “No, it’s not. Come . . . let’s discuss.”

I placed my hand in his big warm hand and followed him to sit once again at His feet. The time maybe fast gone but it didn’t matter; I was where I needed to be at the time.

Running to Jesus is not all about getting his benefits but also wanting to know who He is, the person who created us and loves us so intensely; the one who sent His son to die for us. It isn’t just for our pleasure but for His as well. Why wouldn’t you want to take time out to know the God who gives good gifts without adding sorrow?
Are we accustomed to seeking God to meet us at our needs alone or do we yearn to know more about Him?  In Psalm 103 verse 7, it points out how God made known His ways to Moses and His acts to Israel.
Acts 22 verse 3 (AMP) says, “I am a Jew, born in Tarsus of Cilicia but reared in this city. At the feet of Gamaliel I was educated according to the strictest care in the Law of our fathers, being ardent [even a zealot] for God, as all of you are today.”
In the above passage, we see how Paul was educated at the feet of Gamaliel; learning from him. Talk more of seating at the feet of Jesus! This new month let’s make up our minds to seek God not just for what He can do for us, but most importantly ‘because we want to know more of Him and ‘because we love Him.

             ~Forever Loving You~

5 responses to “At the Feet of Jesus 2

  1. doyin says:

    you kept improving on your writing skill …. may the almighty father continue to bless you and more grease to your elbow

  2. jlobs says:

    This is a very powerful and deep write-up. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

